Spirit of Oliver

The Oliver Good Citizen Award was donated in 1950 by the Junior Chamber of Commerce.

First Recipient was Harold Wright.

In 1961 the Junior Chamber of Commerce ceased to exist, and the trophy was reintroduced in 1966 by the Oliver Board of Trade, later to be renamed “Oliver Chamber of Commerce”.

In 1990, it was decided to make two presentations; one to honour the pioneers who have helped to establish our  community and the other to honour our more recent good citizens.

Hence two plaques: “The Citizen Award” and “The Pioneer Award”.

The 15th Annual Spirit of Oliver Nominations are closed for 2019!

Watch for an announcement of the 2019 Winners. Coming Soon!

2018 Winners 

Community Roots This award Honours individuals or groups that may have settled in greater Oliver following the establishment of the Fairview Townsite and surrounding areas including Osoyoos Indian Band lands. The Winner is Jane Stelkia

Group This award recognizes a community group that demonstrates an outstanding contribution to the community. The Winner is Oliver Lions Club. 

Youth This award recognizes an individual youth member who has demonstrated a commitment to our community and has made extraordinary volunteer contributions.  The Winner is Abby Teigen.

Individual This award recognizes the volunteer work of an individual adult or couple who have contributed significantly through voluntary service involving a variety of projects, groups and/or programs. The Winner is Fiona Wood.

Community Builder (Oliver Parks & Recreation Society Award) This award recognizes an individual or group that through voluntary activities have left a legacy that builds and improves our community and will enhance the quality of life of children, youth and families. The Winners are Jan and Larry Shannon

Jane Stelkia
Abby Teigen
Noorat Gill accepting for Abby Teigen with Mayor Martin Johansen
Oliver Lions Club
Larry and Jan Shannon
Fiona Wood

2017 Winners:

Pioneer Family:   No nominations received for the Pioneer Family Category

Group:                   Highway to Healing

Youth:                   Simi Gill

Individual:           Greg Norton

Community Builder (Oliver Parks & Recreation Society Award): 

                               Amanda Workman and Randee Ede

2016 Winners:

Heritage:              Sue Morhun

Individual Adult: Larry Larson 

Group:                   Women of Oliver for Women 

Youth:                    Ryan Encina  

Recent News

Upcoming Events

  1. Thanksgiving

    October 12
  2. Regular Open Council

    October 13 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
  3. Regular Open Council

    October 26 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
  4. Regular Open Council

    November 9 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
  5. Remembrance Day

    November 11